Honoring Ten Remarkable Women Heroes Championing Media Diversity: 

Katina Arnold, Alicia Bell, Janet Dewart Bell, Yvette Cabrera, Nicole Dungca,  

Katherine Reynolds Lewis, Tracie Powell, and Emily Wilkins, 

Lifetime Achievement Award to Margery Kraus and Luminary Award to Janet Yang

WASHINGTON, DC, March 15, 2024– In celebration of Women’s History Month, the Multicultural Media & Correspondents Association (MMCA) will host the 2024 Sheroes in Media Awards reception on Thursday, March 28, 2024, at the National Press Club in Washington, DC, bringing together 200+ leading media, policy and communications professionals to uplift extraordinary women who exemplify diverse media excellence. 

Followed by the success of the inaugural ceremony in 2021, this exclusive event will present the prestigious Sheroes in Media Awards to eight women who are currently leading organizations that promote media diversity. 

In addition, Margery Kraus, Founder and Executive Chairman of APCO, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Janet Yang, award-winning Hollywood producer and President of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, will be honored with the Luminary Award. The program will feature a speech by Margery Kraus and a fireside chat with Janet Yang that will later be broadcast on the BIPOCXChange

The star-studded event will be emceed by Reena Ninan, a television journalist and founder of Good Trouble Productions, and host of the podcast, HERO: The Hidden Economics of Remarkable Women. “It’s an honor to celebrate the sheroes of media who have blazed a path forward in incredible ways. I can’t wait to share their stories and powerful achievements,” said Reena Ninan.

Below is the full list of the 2024 Sheroes in Media Awards honorees:

Katina Arnold, Board Chair, Alliance for Women in Media Foundation

Alicia Bell, Director, Racial Equity in Journalism Fund, Borealis Philanthropy
Janet Dewart Bell, Board Chair, Women’s Media Center

Yvette Cabrera, President, National Association of Hispanic Journalists

Nicole Dungca, President, Asian American Journalists Association

Margery Kraus, Founder and Executive Chairman of APCO (Lifetime Achievement Award)

Katherine Reynolds Lewis, Founder, Institute for Independent Journalists

Tracie Powell, Founder and CEO, The Pivot Fund, Inc.

Emily Wilkins, President, National Press Club

Janet Yang, President, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (Luminary Award)

“In the polarized world we live in, media diversity is more critical than ever. These sheroes are leading the charge to ensure we are represented not just in front of but also behind the cameras,” said Olga Lucia Torres, Chair Board of Trustees. “MMCA’s commitment is to continue transforming our collective passion into concrete action.” 


About MMCA

Established in 2016, MMCA is a nonpartisan/nonprofit organization leading a call to action to increase media diversity.  MMCA has become a trusted convener and facilitator of thought leadership, resource and information sharing, and strategic engagement between multicultural media stakeholders, tech and media decision-makers, policymakers, and private entities committed to increasing the percentage of diverse media stakeholders and content. www.mmcadc.org; @mmcadc on all platforms. 

#WomensHistoryMonth #SheroesInMedia #MMCA #NationalPressClub #MediaExcellence

The Newsletter 05

Senior Editor, Digital Manager, Blogger, has been nominated for awards several times as Publisher and Author over the years. Has been with company for almost three years and is a current native St. Louisan.