Image: Brad Rempel/USA Today Sports

When it comes to basketball (and sports in general), winning a championship is one of the biggest accolades one can achieve. Championships represent all the hard work players put into their craft, and when it’s all said and done, that work pays off.

The Las Vegas Aces won their first championship in 2022 after beating the Connecticut Sun in four games. The Aces added their name to the history books, and with the 2023 season coming this summer, they will try to win another championship.

The WNBA has had its share of talented teams with multiple championships under their belt. And as time goes on, it will be interesting to see if other teams follow suit. Here are the five WNBA teams with the most championships.

1.) Seattle Storm

The Seattle Storm are one of the league’s top teams. They have won four championships, with their most recent being in 2020. They beat the Aces 3-0. The Storm were led by Sue Bird, who they drafted in 2002. Bird’s playmaking gave the Storm a much needed boost at the point guard position, and in 2004, she led the team to their first championship. They beat the Connecticut Sun 2-1.After that first championship, it took a while for Seattle to win another. But in 2010, the Storm won after beating the Atlanta Dream 3-0. Seattle had a great regular season, including going 17-0 at home to reach that point. Then, they went back to their share of ups and downs. Their 2018 and 2020 championships came after they brought in Jewell Loyd in 2015 and Breanna Stewart in 2016. Seattle received the first pick of the draft in both years. The Storm made t

Western Conference finals last season but lost to the Aces. Now, with the loss of Stewart (who signed with the New York Liberty this offseason), it will be interesting to see where they go from here.

2.) The Minnesota Lynx

The Minnesota Lynx have quite the history. They won their first championship in 2011, which was the year they drafted UConn standout Maya Moore. Moore came into the league and instantly made an impact as she averaged 13.2 points her first year and won Rookie of the Year in the process.

Moore added a boost to the Lynx, who already had their share of talented veterans, and she helped lead the team to a championship. Then, the championships kept coming. The Lynx won championships in 2013, 2015 and 2017. The Lynx made the finals six times during that period, and if they did not lose to the Indiana Fever in 2012 or the Los Angeles Sparks in 2016, Minnesota could have won six championships.

Minnesota had an impressive run in the 2010s, and Moore played a significant role in their success. The Lynx are currently in a rebuilding period, but with them receiving the second pick in the upcoming 2023 draft,

they could draft the player that helps bring them back to contendership.

3.) Houston Comets

The Houston Comets were a team in the WNBA from 1997 to 2008. They were one of the first teams in the league, and they had the first pick of the 1997 draft where they drafted Tina Thompson. The Comets also featured the likes of Cynthia Cooper and Sheryl Swoopes. Houston became a dynasty as they won four consecutive championships. Their first championship was in 1997 when they beat the New York Liberty and their final championship was in 2000 (when they beat the Liberty again).

The Comets were an excellent team, and after their championship run, they had their share of struggles.

4.) The Los Angeles Sparks

The Los Angeles Sparks are arguably the most well-known team in the WNBA. The Sparks picked up where the Comets left off as they won the 2001 championship. And it was none other than the 2001 MVP Lisa Leslie that led the way. Los Angeles beat Houston in the first round of the playoffs, and eventually, they went on to win it all. Then, they went on to repeat, as they beat the Liberty in 2002.

The Sparks remained in contendership for a few more years, but did not win another championship until 2016. By that time it was Candace Parker leading the way. Now, the Sparks are a rebuilding team looking to reach greatness once again.

5.) Phoenix Mercury

The Phoenix Mercury are another one of the WNBA’s most noteworthy teams. They won their first championship in 2007 as they beat the Detroit Shock (who relocated and became the Dallas Wings). Then, they won in 2009 and 2014 (in Brittney Griner’s second year).

The WNBA has its share of talented teams and it will be interesting to see if any current team surpasses these teams.