Photo Courtesy of Tom Gilligan/USA Today Sports

The NFL Honors were on Thursday, and some of the league’s greatest talent came away with awards. From the MVP to Comeback Player of the Year, exceptional players were recognized. Here are the winners of the NFL Honors.

MVP: Lamar Jackson

Lamar Jackson and the Baltimore Ravens had quite the season. They finished the season 13-4. They had the best record in the league, and as the top team in the AFC (and clutching their division), they received a bye in the Wild Card Round. The Ravens lost to the Kansas City Chiefs in the Conference Championships, but their journey up to that point was remarkable. Lamar Jackson was a huge factor in their success.

Jackson was in the top 10 of multiple categories. He was fourth in Total QBR (64.7), tied for fourth in yards per pass attempt (8.0), and led the NFL in yards per rush (5.5). He also is the only player to produce 3,000 passing yards and 800 rushing yards multiple times. Jackson had an impressive season, and now he is one of few players to win MVP twice. He joins players like Patrick Mahomes, Tom Brady, Peyton Manning, Jim Brown, and more. Jackson was the frontrunner for MVP, and come next season, he could be on the path for another.

Offensive Player of the Year: Christian McCaffrey

Christian McCaffrey has played well for the San Francisco 49ers and could be a key player in the Super Bowl. McCaffrey led the league in scrimmage yards per game (with 126.4). He also led in scrimmage touchdowns (with 21), first downs (114) and rushing yards (1,459). McCaffrey had an impressive season, and it was little to no surprise he came away with this award.

Defensive Player of the Year: Myles Garrett

Myles Garrett has been one of the NFL’s best defensive players, and after years of being in consideration, he finally has a Defensive Player of the Year under his belt. The Cleveland Browns were a strong defensive team this season, as they led the league in defensive efficiency. They also led in categories such as three-and-out rate. Garrett was like a defensive anchor for the Browns, and the Browns’ defense helped Cleveland pick up big wins. When the offense struggled, the defense did their job (be it fumbles, sacks, interceptions). Garrett and the Browns did well this year, and with him leading the way, their defense could be just as strong next season.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: C.J. Stroud

C.J. Stroud had an incredible season. He came into the league and almost immediately made an impact. He led the league in touchdown-to-interception ratio (23:5), he led the Houston Texans to their first divisional title since 2019, and he became the youngest quarterback to win a playoff game. Stroud played well this season, and the future looks bright for the young star.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Will Anderson Jr.

The Texans not only have a talented young player on offense, they have one on defense. Will Anderson Jr. was the third pick of the 2023 draft (right behind Stroud). He had a strong season as he finished with seven sacks and 22 QB hits. Anderson made an impact and chances are, he will only get better from here.

Coach of the Year: Kevin Stefanski

Kevin Stefanski had quite the year. The Cleveland Browns finished the season 11-6, and reached the playoffs for the first time since 2020. The Browns went 7-10 in 2022, and this year was a drastic turnaround. The Browns had their share of injuries, but Stefanski and his team fought through that. It was a long, hard journey but Stefanski and the Browns kept their cool, and got through it.

Comeback Player of the Year: Joe Flacco

Speaking of the Browns’ injuries. Cleveland had a quarterback problem. Deshaun Watson had season-ending surgery, and as a result, the Browns signed Joe Flacco to their practice squad. When Dorian Thompson-Robinson (who was starting after Watson’s injury) went out with a concussion, Flacco was named starter. Flacco came in and made an impact, and was essential in securing their playoff spot. Flacco’s season is a fascinating story, and this award was the icing on the cake.

The NFL Honors were a success, and those who won were more than deserving. Congrats to them all. 

#NFLHonors #MVP #ComebackPlayerOfTheYear #NationalFootballLeague #exceptionalplayers #awards #talent #recognition