On Saturday, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced 13 honorees that will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in this year’s ceremony. 

The 2022 class includes four-time NBA champion Manu Ginobili, NBA coaching legend George Karl, five-time NBA All-Star Tim Hardaway and WNBA legend Swin Cash and Lindsay Whalen

These inductees all have illustrious careers. On top of being a multi-time champion, Ginobili was a two-time All-Star and a former NBA Sixth Man of the Year. Karl is the sixth-winningest coach in NBA history with 1,175 wins (and a win percentage of .588) and was named Coach of the Year in 2013. Cash was a three-time WNBA champion, a four-time WNBA All-Star and a two-time Olympic gold medalist. Cash is currently an executive with the New Orleans Pelicans. 

Hardaway had his jersey retired by the Miami Heat, won a gold medal in 2000 and is the first player to introduce the crossover to the league. He was arguably a Hall-of-Famer years ago, but controversial statements after former NBA player John Amaechi came out in 2007 kept him out of the Hall-of-Fame (at least Hardaway believed). He later admitted that he hurt people’s feelings, and it came off the wrong way. 

The 2022 Hall-of-Fame class follows a class that featured greats like Bill Russell (as a coach), Paul Pierce, Ben Wallace, Chris Bosh, and more. This year’s class is special, and come September, they will receive the honors they deserve. 

Leave a comment